The Cob is knitted!

A couple of posts ago I talked about Knitting the Cob, a great piece of local knitting madness. Well, not madness really – not if you’re a knitter…

Today was the day that all the rolls of sewn-together knitted scarves were due to be unrolled – and it poured down all night. Some friends and I had planned to go and see the Great Unrolling (we don’t often have yarn bombing on this scale), but we nearly abandoned the idea. Then it began to look better, so we piled into the car and went up to Porthmadog – and what a sight when we walked onto the Cob.

There were rolls everywhere, ready to be taken to where they were needed.

My little contribution is part of the far roll, the broad greeny-brown one; I wished I’d done something more striking when I saw all of the others. There were scarves hanging all the way along the slate wall between the footpath and the road.

And they were looped all the way back on the other side, tied along the fence and draped among the bushes between the footpath and the Glaslyn estuary.

The sheer range of colours used was astonishing. The way the surroundings worked on the individual colours, the relationship of the colours to each other – it really made you think (I’d never really considered putting yellows and greys together, but they worked very well). We were all struck by how the colour of the fence posts and the slate wall seemed to change according to the colours of the scarves.

And it was wonderful the way the knitting made people smile – everyone we saw was grinning, and I’m not surprised:

The gorse is flowering, and some scarves really matched the intense colour. In fact, they outdid it.

Most of the scarves were variations on garter stitch – plain, striped, stepped, multi-coloured – but there were many other stitches and patterns, from intarsia Welsh dragons to lace patterns and knit-and-purl patterns such as basket stitch. This one was an Aran sampler, the cream highlighting the colour and texture of the wall:

I particularly fell in love with striped garter stitch, and some people’s colour choices just made my heart sing!

Walkers on the railway footpath looked down, fascinated; cars and vans parped their horns at their friends as they passed. The sun came out, the people came out, the children came from schools either end of the Cob, and the three of us went off for a panad (a cuppa) and a sandwich. I’ve posted additional photographs on Flickr, if you want to see more.

And now the scarves will be separated, some sold as individual scarves for charity, some made up into blankets for hospitals and old people’s homes, and more money has been raised by sponsored knitters. What a wonderful idea to have, and what an achievement to pull it off.

Llongyfarchiadau – congratulations to everyone who organised it, and everyone who knitted away!

13 thoughts on “The Cob is knitted!

    1. kate Post author

      It was great – and it involved so many different people… we’re waiting to see what the next one will be!

      Reply
  1. Fiona

    Thank you for posting the photos! I wish I’d been there.

    I love all the added colour and how it brought out the landscape and surroundings.. real art in action, changing our perceptions, making us think differently and starting conversations.

    What a great project.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      It was amazing – I don’t think I’d really anticipated the effect, so I was blown away by it.

      (And it was good being there and meeting people: community spirit in action, I guess.)

      Reply
  2. Knitsister

    Oh Kate how beautiful and how I wished I could have been there. Us knitters have a gift or two and one is to make people smile.
    Nothing on BBC Wales last night! maybe they had something on S4C, but as I don’t speak Welsh I never watch it.
    Keep smiling…

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      It was lovely – and though I saw TV cameras, I didn’t aske where they were from. Should have done – rats.

      I’m sure we’ll be making the inhabitants of Llangollen smile on Knitting in Public day!

      Reply
  3. Joan

    That was a particularly enjoyable post – and thanks for the link to your extra photos on Flickr. I love the contrast of the rocks, mountains and foliage with the knitting. Surrealism!

    Reply
  4. Teresa Starr

    Thank you for posting this. I did some scarves for this back before Easter and had hoped to come down from the Wirral to see the unrolling but unfortunately a death in the family prevented me.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      That’s a shame – but at least you can see how successful it was and know about the effect all our work had. The best thing, I feel, was the way it made everyone smile and cheer up as they passed (even those tourists who didn’t understand and clearly thought Porthmadog was full of mad people)…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

