Opening the mystery parcel…

I went out yesterday, and when I got back there was a big box sitting on the floor. I approached it with caution and a pocket knife, trying not to squeal in anticipation.

Is it a (wooden) bird?

detail1

Is it a (strange sort of) plane?

ouch

Is it an excellent way of putting off doing my tax return?

wooooo

Oh, YES!

When I started spinning about three years ago, a friend and I bought a second-hand Ashford drum carder from a nearby farmer’s wife, and coincidentally the purveyor of fine BFL-cross fleeces to the discriminating local spinner. It had been used, well used. But it worked and was great. But then I was unfaithful. I used a Classic Carder belonging to a friend.

I was led away from the path of abstemious righteousness and was tempted by sleek lines, good looks, and downright efficiency. (It’s a pattern – or that should be was a pattern – though a) not always applied to drum carders, in fact never before, generally to men; and b) the efficiency thing has tended to be somewhat optional when applied to blokes.)

You should always give in to temptation:

carder

And that reminds me, I’m supposed to be doing my tax return. Yeah right…

25 thoughts on “Opening the mystery parcel…

      1. Pia

        So far I went and did a shopping cart to check how much it would cost. Then I took the dog for a walk and when I came back it had timed out and emptied. Phew! 😉

        Reply
        1. kate Post author

          Ah, the hand of economical fate. They’re Vat registering soon, so everything will go up by 20%. Just saying…

  1. ohdebs

    Oh Kate. I know that feeling exactly. Last year I got a drum carder for Christmas. I was soooo excited. It was frustrating for me to use at first but I finally got it working (mostly by ordering the brush attachment). But last June I ended up selling it. Why? I discovered that I do not have the time nor the patience for carding. So it has a new home and I will just buy roving, top and bats that are already carded. That is when I start spinning again… lol. It’s not the taxes that has me held up though. It’s that I have been painting like a fiend. I have even let my knitting and dying go by the wayside and I feel terribly guilty. But I know it will come back. Probably when it gets cooler out. That is when I will want to cuddle up on the couch with my yarn.

    But YOU will have fun with your new toy!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I think things go in phases; the painting is rocking your boat at the moment and your woolly mojo is sitting on a beach somewhere with its feet up, sipping a huge pina colada (I think I could do with one myself, the paint fumes from the decorating must have got to me)…

      New toy waiting completion of decorating. Why I decided to get half the house done at once I do not know. Madness.

      Reply
      1. Pia

        I’m the same way. I keep cycling through the same hobbies, but I don’t have time for all of them all the time, so they take turns. Sometimes for decades, but they do come round again eventually.

        Reply
        1. kate Post author

          Wish I’d thought of that and developed housework as a hobby. Then I’d stand a chance of having a clean house, oh, maybe once a decade…

        2. kate Post author

          I’m going to have four really clean rooms due to them being decorated. I may consider an open house (well, open four rooms) weekend to mark this momentous event.

          Good news (ish). It’s due to get colder this weekend, apparently. So all that fluff / wool / knitwear will be useful for insulation.

  2. starproms

    yes and do let us know how you’re getting on with it? It looks fascinating. I also have a yearning for ‘doing everything myself’, but sadly I am too old to keep sheep and I don’t have the space etc. etc. If only we could live our lives over?

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Oh, I will, as soon as I can get it out. There’s a Winghams’ sampling day near me next week – think of all those lovely things I could blend on it. Ooooo!

      (I think I may have been a sheep in a previous life…)

      Reply
  3. Lydia

    The joy of The Arrival Of A Box – which does not happen very often – has to be experienced to be believed! Yes, indeed a sleek beauty has now come to live with you. Much much more fun than The Hovering Tax Return….. Looking forward to seeing what you will create….

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      It’s so exciting, and particularly when you know there’s going to be something fab inside… (Maybe if they boxed up my tax forms? Hm, I suspect that wouldn’t work in quite the same way.)

      Reply
  4. croftgarden

    It is the most delicious thingamajig-whatsit I’ve seen for ages. Not that I’d know what to do with it or ever have the inclination to use it, but I’d just sit and admire it. I’m smitten!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      It is so beautifully made, the craftsmanship is stunning. Hope I can live up to it! (Am just admiring it myself at the mo. When I can catch a glimpse of it under the dustsheets with which my entire house is covered.)

      Reply
  5. Lindsay

    I am deeply besotted by my own CC which I have had for maybe eighteen months. Always ready for action, never less than elegant, and such a smooth operator…I am sure your relationship will be equally fulfilling!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Everyone I know who has one loves them deeply. I cannot wait to get rid of the decorator (not really, he’s a friend – just in case he’s reading this which I doubt, phew) so I can start playing using it… I may love it so much I want to have its babies…

      Reply
  6. knitsofacto

    Very pretty! A mystery box turned up here recently too, with a great big dye pan in it, all the way from Germany. I’ve never been quite so excited about a capsulated bottom in my life. Of such small pleasures as your carder and my pan are good days made 🙂

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Capsulated bottoms are the bee’s tomatoes, or something. A mate of mine was about to chuck out a lovely big stock-type pan with one, just because she’d broken the lid. Needless to say, I snaffled it. I hope you and your pan will be very happy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

