Happy, Joyeux, Llawen…

Happy Christmas, Joyeux Noel, Nadolig Llawen (my favourite comment on the latter came from Gavin and Stacey, with Gavin’s mum convinced the Welsh was Nadolig Clarins)…

But every Christmas I end up channelling the distantly Provencal side of my ancestry and dig out my collection of santons, the terracotta figures representing all the people of a Provencal village. They, together with the more conventionally religious figures like the Holy Family and the Magi, make up a Christmas creche. The figures can be large – about 25cm is not uncommon – but mine are much smaller, about 7cm for the standing ones (and the creches can be enormous). My own collection, my father’s having gone astray over the years, started with sheep (sigh), and a shepherd:

sheep

to which I soon added a knitter and spinner.

IMG_7692

The detail is lovely, with even facial expressions (love the smiley sheep) and details of clothing carefully rendered.

Take a closer look at the knitter, for instance, with her shawl in a traditional Provencal pattern, her stripy sock (which she is only knitting on two needles, a woman after my own heart, has clearly read Knit Your Socks On Straight). She is only 5cm tall, and what isn’t clear here is the beautiful detail of the stone wall on which she sits – there’s even lichen.

Until about ten years ago, most of my santons were male. I’m not quite sure how that happened, but it did, and so I began consciously adding some women to my small personal outpost of Provence. There is a female water carrier, an elderly wood collector and several marchandes, vendors, sellers of things like lavender or ribbons. IMG_7695

The knitter’s needles are metal, and many of my santons have additions such as a bundle of logs or a fishing rod. But the delicacy of the ribbon seller’s basket is particularly fine. The cord holding it around her neck is threaded through two tiny little metal loops on the ends of her basket, and it is carefully and minutely tied at the back.  I have an ex-neighbour who is in his mid-80s, and who is a ship modeller (though he also built my spinning wheel); I’ve only ever seen such minute and perfect work on his models. And they are hardly mass-produced, which santons almost are; they’re not unique productions and can even be bought in Parisian department stores in the run-up to Christmas.

IMG_7694It is possible to buy unpainted ones and decorate them yourself if you wish; I prefer the traditional decoration – plus, I’m not at all confident I could get anywhere near the level of detail required to transform a 7cm-tall figure of a letter carrier / postman into a passable version of the older Gérard Depardieu (or maybe it’s just me, or maybe just the moustache). And I’m not sure he’s exactly seasonal, but then neither are the blacksmith, the poacher (easily recognisable as Mond des Papillons from Marcel Pagnol’s wonderful memoirs of his childhood, La gloire de mon père and  Le château de ma mère), or the man wandering about with a giant pumpkin on his shoulder.

The most recent additions are a band of ‘gypsy’ musicians, which I love:

bohemiens

Let’s assume they are seasonal, and are playing something festive, like ‘Il est né, le devin enfant‘. Or maybe, since I am ‘tout à fait laïque‘, completely unreligious, like my entire family, it should be a jolly bouncy dance tune to cheer up the darkest time of the year. I’ll go for that!

Have a lovely holiday, if you’re having one that is – and fair play to anyone who is working or volunteering through it. Especially those at our local homeless shelter – and the nearby food banks which, according to Ian Duncan Smith, are completely uneccessary and have a political agenda. Maybe he should think on another person, not entirely unconnected with Christmas, who could also be described as having had a political agenda. According to the Romans. OK, rant over. And seasons greetings!

8 thoughts on “Happy, Joyeux, Llawen…

  1. Julia

    Do you strew your santons all over the house or are they in a crib scene all together? How many have you got – look loads. Fascinating reading, as ever. Happy Chrimbles, lots of love and hoping to see you soonish in 2014.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      They come out from their hiding place when the tree goes up, and they’re all along the mantlepiece where they can get nice and dusty from the woodburner – there are 32, including sheep, but not including a lovely baker a friend bought me at the fete des santons in Carcassone – he’s too tall. But lovely nonetheless…

      Happy Christmas to you lot too!

      Reply
  2. Sue

    I’d never heard of santons before, but they look lovely, and it’s great to be able to build a collection that appeals to your own interests.

    Have a great Christmas, and a peaceful New Year. 🙂

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      They’re so traditional, and (in the UK) so unusual, though there used to be a santonier (actually a santoniere, a woman) making them somewhere in Northamptonshire. I wish I’d looked her up!

      Reply
  3. Lydia

    Nadolig Llawen! I hope your little band of santons people dance and twirl joyfully all day. Love to read your blog – now I have learnt about santons too!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      To you too!

      (I’m sure they all get together, when I leave the room and switch the lights out, and have little Provencal folk dances along the mantlepiece..)

      Reply
  4. Annie @ knitsofacto

    I hope you’re enjoying a proper break and watching those santons twirl with your feet up x

    Ian Duncan Smith … din’t get me started. Your last para is spot on Kate x

    Your recent comment on knitsofacto caused great consternation here … my family had no idea why I was chortling and thought I was choking. I do hope this years meat-based sauce controversy was easily resolved!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      No gravy row. Bread sauce. I shall say no more. Do not even mention the ‘what happened to the chestnuts that should be with the sprouts?’ controversy. (Answer: they got lost, maybe left in Tesco. Chorizo instead. Heresy.)

      Food banks – grrrrr. And it’s not just the Trussel Trust, either, there are lots of informal ones. One friend told me about impromptu ones springing up in doctor’s surgeries in leafy, middle-class Surrey (which has always had a much less well-off side to it, easily ignored. If you’re IDS.)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

