A clutch of Colinette (and an intermission of sorts)

Grr. I’ve been a bit slow putting up a post because WordPress (whom I normally love to bits) have suddenly decided to effectively use us as beta-testers for some changes to image editing. These are going down like a mafioso in cement overshoes sinking into the Hudson River, and are being reassessed – apparently – but in the meanwhile my pics are BIG. Or smaller but not consistent.

Think of this as an intermission, the woolly blogging equivalent of an interval in a 1960s cinema. Here comes the usherette, selling ice cream and cigarettes…

Colinette 1

Colinette yarns are comparatively close to me, and their sale room is a temptation. It’s a glorious riot of colour, and it’s easy to lose your head. But I always try and hang on to mine, because I have an ambivalent relationship with Colinette. I’ve tussled with their patterns, wrestled with the sudden appearance of knots in a length of yarn, washed my hands obsessively as they became deep blue with indigo (that was the yarn above, Prism). Grr.

But I still weaken, and my friends know this too. So when a couple of them saw some Point 5 in a charity shop (!!!), they grabbed it:

Colinette 2

and I made a throw out of it. Love the variability, love the colours.

Of course… once a Goth, always a Goth. Even in the face of Colinette’s sale room, I can be relied upon to find something black. Ish.

Colinette 3

but again, love those colours sneaking in. This is their merino double knit, Cadenza. Sooo soft.

I do, however, have an exception when it comes to colour – I would quite happily buy every skein of Giotto that they do. It’s shimmery with rayon, muted with cotton and altogether wonderful and I love it.

Colinette4

Yum. Even when it fades, as this scarf has. Possibly because it’s been worn so much, rather than been kept in the dark, as it obviously should have been. Silly me. But I still love Giotto.

(Er, except in the form of a drape-front cardigan I knitted. Not the yarn’s fault – let’s just say that as a descendant of what my father called ‘the old dark people of the West’, drape fronts are not really my thing. We may have been old, we may have been dark, we may now live or come from the West, but we are also, generally – and I certainly am specifically – short.)

Right, now I must get back to pestering WordPress. If I’d wanted to turn the clock back I’d have gone to –––– hmm. Let’s just say ‘elsewhere’. Where I may end up moving. Noooo…

6 thoughts on “A clutch of Colinette (and an intermission of sorts)

  1. Liz Jones

    Loving the colours – we are staying in the area to visit Lake Vrnwy in June, a visit to Colinette will be on my “must do” list. Thanks for this post, it made me check where Colinette is!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      You have GOT to go there, you’ll be comparatively close. They can be a bit unfriendly (you’re met by a notice telling you there are no loos before you even open the door), but they’re busy of course. And it is like going into Aladdin’s cave: even non-knitters are stunned into silence or gasps of ‘wow!’…

      Reply
  2. Lydia

    Colinette was a pioneer. No one had produced anything like it before her and I think she paved the way for all the indie dyers and producers that have mushroomed today. Hope you sort your WordPress situation out – all a complete mystery to me….

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I’m sure you are right – when I first saw her colours I couldn’t believe my eyes, they were so wonderful.

      I’ll lash WP into shape, see if I don’t. It’s either it or me, Carruthers…! (I think messing with HTML again may have affected my mind. Think?)

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      It drives me MAD… but WP do seem to be listening, and some of the features are back. Now the only thing stopping me form posting is work (hiss, boo)…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

