Selling my babies (as it were)

Just a quickie post, because it’s the big Harlech Arts and Crafts Fair this weekend and I am one of the organisers. (It’s highly professional, and is absolutely not toecover territory, see previous post, well… generally it isn’t.) I’m also a stallholder, and I have a terrible habit of being very, very, very last minute. I also have a terrible habit of forgetting to photograph things I sell…

This year I have rediscovered my love for all things Colinette. Well, not quite all things, because the patterns are still bonkers and I’m not a huge fan of having unintentionally indigo hands or red bamboo needles. But I can forgive their Giotto yarn almost anything:

giotto 1

simply because the colours are so gorgeous, the texture is so appealing, and it drapes beautifully,

cowl 1

with just enough body to work as a light cowl. It’s my own pattern, dead simple, and I sold several of these last year. One was bought by a friend who wore it all summer, and that’s even though it was a good summer. I’ve some bits left over so I’m experimenting with necklaces, but I’ve not made one I think really works. Yet.

Even the more subdued colourways appeal:

Giotto 2

and I freely admit that I often find them very difficult to sell. Um, to part with: they’re very easy to sell… my inner two year old surfaces and I start channelling Stewie from Family Guy when it suddenly happens to him: Mine! Mine!! MINE!!! (Some might say I channel Stewie at other times too, but I couldn’t possibly comment.)

So sometimes I just give up. Generally I try not to do this with more than one item, but often I fail. My item of choice for this year, which is going nowhere near my stall, is a double mobius cowl, also in a Colinette yarn, Prism this time:

Prism cowl

It’s too smooshy. It’s too soft. It would be cruel, sending it out into the wide world. Wearing it is like having a nestful of kittens draped round your neck, except there’s no fighting and nobody dribbles or pees down your front. It’s just too cuddly:

prism detail

I’ve used Prism before, for a cardigan, and let me just say that it felts beautifully despite being  blend of cotton and wool. I’ll leave it at that, but boy am I going to be careful with this. See? I couldn’t trust anyone else to look after it.

MINE!

22 thoughts on “Selling my babies (as it were)

    1. kate Post author

      Thank you – I’ll post it soonish. Dead simple (but I’m not telling customers that, if they can’t work it out. Like all craft fairs, there are inevitably ‘my auntie can do that’ comments)…

      Reply
  1. croftgarden

    Beautiful colours and I can understand why letting go is difficult. Trouble is, that even if you have the virtual bank manager on your shoulder whispering about the evils of penury, if you are not motivated by money you’ve no chance. So you might as well squirrel the ones you like most most away and enjoy them.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Hooray! I quite agree, and anyway it’s got cold all of a sudden and I need it… a little more money-motivation might not be a bad thing around here, mind…

      Reply
  2. Aoife

    Ooooh, I know this feeling! I’ve been making stuff recently so I can get an Etsy shop started, and I was probably too excited when I got to the end of one particular piece and realized I’d made a few mistakes way back at the beginning. Oops! Guess I’ll have to keep this one for myself! I mean, it’s not like there’s any way to fix a mistake in your knitting, so I don’t really see another option.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Hee hee, another one!
      I’ve just been scrutinising a cushion, hoping for a mistake. Apart from the buttons being a bit small, I can’t find anything wrong with it – but maybe that’s enough?

      Reply
      1. Aoife

        I think I read somewhere once that some people find too-small buttons to be the ultimate insult, so you should probably hang onto that cushion and avoid offending anyone.

        Reply
        1. kate Post author

          I’ve hidden it under a pile of scarves. One person asked me about it but I mumbled – she wasn’t really interested anyway and I’m quite sure she had detected the too-small buttons…

        2. Aoife

          Excellent plan! You can’t say you didn’t offer it, but if no one buys it, then you really have no choice but to give it a loving home!

        3. kate Post author

          Result – I now have a cushion!

          I did hide it under the table after someone was rude to it, though. Two people came up to the stall and started fondling and examining it. As they walked away, I heard one say to the other ‘So you could do that for me with an old sweater?’ and the other said ‘Oh, yes, it will be easy’. She’s in for a steep learning curve because no, you can’t, you have to knit it from scratch, I wasted ages trying… Hee hee hee…

        4. Aoife

          Ugh, I hate when people try to get me to make them something so they don’t have to buy it! Whenever someone asks me, “So, could you knit this for me?” I say, “Yeah, but it would take about 6 months and cost about $75,” no matter what they’re asking about.

          But congratulations on your new cushion!

        5. kate Post author

          One of my craft fair compadres has just developed a family illness to get out of something she agreed to do in a moment of weakness. Why people are so shocked by the cost of a handknit jumper interests me – I usually say something like ‘this is effectively designer wear, made by hand, and taking weeks. It’s a one-off piece and you’re buying something unique… You’re not going to find it in Tesco’ (so why do you expect to pay less than you would for something mass-produced and acrylic?)

        6. kate Post author

          Quite – I’m not sure what goes on the mind of someone like that. Ignorance, I suppose, coupled with the idea that by knitting you are somehow ‘saving money’. Hah!!

  3. grackleandsun

    Hiya! I have nominated you for a One Lovely Blog award because I think your blog is full of awesome goodness. If you would like to accept this blog award, you may find the link here:

    https://grackleandsun.wordpress.com/2014/11/30/thanks-and-more-thanks/

    And if you’re not into the whole blog award thing, that’s ok, too. I nominated your blog because I read it regularly and genuinely appreciate your writing and the work you do and wanted to share that with my readers. Thank you!

    Cheers,

    dre

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      That’s really lovely (and I’m not remotely surprised someone nominated you, not at all).

      So glad you enjoy my ramblings, but I tend to say thanks to these awards but they’re not really my thing. That’s because of the fact they you generally do seven, maybe ten, facts about yourself which can’t be gleaned from the blog, and I have my Saddo Stalker to bear in mind (actually I’m Angelina Jolie, I’m just hiding out)…

      (Stalker quiet ATM. I guess maybe the run up to Christmas is helping me there.)

      Reply
  4. Annie

    Ooh, that cowl! Soft as kittens with no claws? You could almost persuade me Colinette is a good thing. I’ve tried to persuade myself – I hang out there with friends in hope of a conversion – but their yarns aren’t for me, well not the ones I can afford anyway.

    I have a small quantity of naturally dyed yarn to sell – a little stock clearance of bits and bobs before maybe starting up properly again – but i keep taking back another skein, and then another, goodness knows when I’ll knit it all but who else would appreciate the subtleties of the overdyeing? Or the time it took to pick the plants, process the plants, etc. etc.. I’ve been asked in the past “Which Dylon colours can I mix to get that shade?”. I may not have responded politely!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Screeching with laughter at the Dylon question! AGH! DOUBLE AGH!

      I battle with my concept of Colinette and the reality, I’m afraid, so I know where you’re coming from, man. I try and divorce my liking for a few yarns – notably Giotto and Prism and Cadenza – with my dislike of unstable dyes (though my knitting shop friend, who sells a lot of Colinette, has only ever had one problem) and my almost-equal dislike of the generally odd attitude to customers. They can be lovely, but they can also be very rude – and when you are greeted by a sign on the outside door that says ‘There are no toilets in this building. Use the station’ (that’s what it read last time I was there), it’s quite tempting turn round and go away.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

