Intermissione… is that a word?

In any language? Probably not, but this is one. Ar hintermission. I will get back on the decision I made about Fair Isle colours, but for the moment I am frantically trying to finish an editing job. Well, I need the work to pay for more wool, sillie billies!

(And food. And bills. That sort of thing.)

And, for variety, I’ve entered the Tour de Fleece. Yes, there is such a thing – if you don’t know already – and the idea is to set yourself a spinning challenge and spin your wheel each day the riders of the Tour de France spin theirs (only – happily – wearing lycra, pissing in your pants, and not just pissing*, is not involved).

wheel

It’s been ages since I could spin properly, and I seem to have lost the knack. Time to get it back. So I’m allowed to spin for ten minutes a day – twenty if my hands behave – and no more. The aim was to use a chocolate-brown Manx Loaghtan fleece I’ve had kicking around since pre-hand-injury days. I got it out, I prepped it, it was disgusting, I put most of it in the compost.

Don’t get me wrong – it wasn’t that I’d left it unwashed for three years. That would be an ERGH almost comparable with what happens to some of the Tour riders when they get caught short. But it was full of second cuts and straw and scurf and it was not pleasant. So I’m using what I prepped before I became too nauseated by sheep dandruff, and am going to ply it together with some white Lleyn which is much, much nicer.

IMG_2949

Except with all the typing I now need to rest my hands again, and with root canal work I also need massive painkillers (I love dentists). Never mind, it will get done – and I’m much heartened by my progress. On all fronts!

*Really. Croyez-moi. I’m a bit of Tour nerd – and ERGH. Double ERGH. Let’s just say you wouldn’t want to cycle behind some people.

8 thoughts on “Intermissione… is that a word?

  1. spinningsheepfeathers

    So happy to hear that your joining in on the Tour de Fleece!! It looks like a bunch of the riders are already out.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I thought it would be a good way of getting back into spinning, and so it is proving. Except I cannot think what on earth possessed me to buy this horrible fleece!

      Reply
  2. Lydia

    How wonderful to quietly begin to flex your spinning fingers again and even better that you made the decision to compost fleece you were not happy with.

    A thought on root canals. I had one done about 12 years ago and have never been very happy about it. About three weeks ago I took the plunge and bravely had the tooth removed only to discover much to the dentist’s surprise that there was a well hidden abscess underneath it. I am delighted that I went ahead and am happy with the new gap which I look upon as a badge of honour and perhaps I have a more characterful laugh!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I think it was definitely the right move. I’ve tried using it as a slug-defender (as reported), but my slugs are different to everybody else’s, they laugh at fleece and climb right over it, sneering as they head for my beans.

      Teeth – this is one of my canines, which is why the dentist is reluctant to remove it – but should ouch come to AGGGGGHHHHH, I will try and bear in mind your robust attitude and piratical laugh! Very inspiring!

      Reply
  3. croftgarden

    Life can be cruel and I also have the albatross of work around my neck, so my commiserations.
    I’m very sensitive about the dentists and teeth and alas I had a similar experience to Lydia. Fortunately the resulting gap is at the back, but I’ve no regrets about having the wretched tooth removed.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Work, what would we do without it? Er, starve, no doubt. Plus if we didn’t work, we wouldn’t have the lovely warm glow of knowing David Cameron was thinking of us each time (and there are many) he bangs on about ‘hard-working families’. Ooops, politics!

      I think the tooth is settling… I’d end up doing a bit of an ‘oppressed masses’ thing with my gap being right at the front, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed. But there can sometimes come a time when you just don’t care and would take the damn thing out with a pair of pliers yourself. Let’s hope it doesn’t come to that!

      Reply
  4. caityrosey

    Manx Loaghtan. Lleyn. I’m not familiar with either of those breeds. Going to have to look them up. Are they local to you?

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Hiya!

      They’re both lovely to spin. Or they can be… hm.

      The Manx is a primitive breed, with spectacular horns – one of those that look impossible, as though they’ve come out of a fantasy comic book. Their real home is the Isle of Man, which isn’t that far away really, but this one came from a farm in south Wales somewhere, where it had evidently been kept on straw. Grrrrr. Lleyns ought to be really local, given that their name is the English spelling of Llyn and I can see the Llyn peninsula from the window. But the roots of the breed are in Ireland (mind you, I can see the lights of Dublin on a clear night from the hills behind the house) and they were originally imported in the eighteenth century by a couple of landowners on Llyn. This one came from mid-Wales though, rather more recently, and it’s a bit dry. That’s because I over-washed it. Rats.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

