Earworms and felted bags

I need to apologise for this, but just in case you thought I was getting a bit sensible… and I accept no responsibility for the consequences, by the way.

I clicked onto Facebook yesterday, and a friend of mine who lives inland was lamenting the presence of an earworm – she’d popped out to feed her hens, seen that the Moelwyns were looking spectacularly blue in the early light, and started channelling Laurel and Hardy with a slight adaptation – ‘In the Blue Ridge Mountains of Ffestiniog / in the shade of the lonesome pine…’. All. Day.

I felt (ouch – wait for it) for her, because I’d also been suffering. Only I’d been channelling Gilbert and Sullivan, and I don’t even like Gilbert and Sullivan. And I’d been singing to some cute felted bags I’ve been making for a commission. At least she’d been singing to something animated: her hens.

Think Mikado, OK?

IMG_3495

Three little bags from Wales are we,
Fat as a felted bag can be,
We’re really sweet, not ‘ach a fi’,
Three little bags from Wales…

IMG_3518

Three little bags which slightly vary,
Due to the kemp we are still quite hairy,
Even so, we are soft not scary,
Three little bags from Wales,
Three little bags from Wales…

IMG_3522

There is more, but personally I would like to get through the day without conjuring up visions of dancing bags in Japanese wigs (though it is worth clicking on the YouTube rendition of ‘Three Little Maids’ which involves Lily Savage, who is surprisingly restrained but a good antidote to the cod geishas which populate amateur versions – and some professional ones – of The Mikado).

Oh, and ‘ach a fi’ (‘fi’ is a ‘vee’, not ‘fee’ sound), in case you didn’t know, is a Welsh expression of disgust. Quite.

So. Small bags knitted in a 100% pure wool – Hebridean, in this case, with a stripe in some left-over New Lanark Falklands wool – and felted. Stuffed with newspaper,

IMG_3498

which you can just see here, to give them a nice rounded shape, then dried on a radiator during a brief period (soon to be back) when the heating clicked on. Buttons added, labelled, packaged and delivered, all to the accompaniment of fecking Gilbert and fecking fecking Sullivan. And if WordPress changes ‘fecking’ to ‘decking’ once more I will hunt them down and sing to them.

(I haven’t been this irritated by an earworm since the time slugs drove me to rewrite the national anthem. They did, honest.)

12 thoughts on “Earworms and felted bags

  1. ellie

    I like G & S but I totally understand that it is a ‘Marmite’ thing. Your song made me laugh though! Being sensible is highly overrated…
    Best wishes and the bags look lovely
    Ellie

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Someone has to!

      Glad you were not too upset by my heresy in rewriting the master… And those bags are so cute, I felt really hard sending them out into the big bad world…

      Reply
  2. Annie Cholewa

    And again I find you echoing my granny … first toe covers and now ach y fi. I still say it, and people look at me like I’m mad when I do, even some of the supposed Welsh in my very English corner of Wales.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I’m beginning to find this alarming, 😉…

      Seriously, ach a fi is soooooo useful, I can’t think why it isn’t universal. Can be applied to everything from an upset plate to the nappy from hell to George Osborne. Especially the latter!

      Reply
  3. Lydia

    Three little felted bags are we
    Three little felted bags are we
    Of this and that have we been made
    By fingers and hands who know their trade
    Three little felted bags are we….

    Reply
  4. croftgarden

    I’ve been cut-off from cyberspace for a while, so I thought I’d drop-in and see what you were up to. Thank you for the chuckle, alas I’ll be serenading the cabbages as I weed the leeks this afternoon. At least with G&S it is easy to make up your own words – risque or otherwise!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      This is true – see Lydia’s contribution. Sorry about the ear worm; if it’s any consolation, I’m still singing ‘in the blue-ridge mountains’ and will be having strong words with my friend when I visit her stall at Dolgellau farmer’s market this weekend. Strong words, but no boycott – she’s a chocolate whizz.

      Reply
  5. jacksdad3

    That would be:

    “In the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, on the trail of the lonesome pine…”

    I lived in Leesburg, VA for four years before my divorce made me a single Dad and we moved back here to New Hampshire. These mountains are beautiful.

    John

    Amherst, NH

    On Fri, Sep 11, 2015 at 3:52 AM, Woolwinding wrote:

    > kate posted: “I need to apologise for this, but just in case you thought I > was getting a bit sensible… and I accept no responsibility for the > consequences, by the way. I clicked onto Facebook yesterday, and a friend > of mine who lives inland was lamenting the presenc” >

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      They do look lovely… Never, alas, been tha close in reality, even when I was working in the States. Always urban, boo hoo.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

